BYLAW NO. 1180-20

A BYLAW OF MACKENZIE COUNTY, IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA

TO AMEND THE TAX PENALTIES BYLAW

WHEREAS, pursuant to the provisions of the Municipal Government Act, Revised Statutes of Alberta, 2000, Chapter M-26, Sections 344, 345, and 346 and amendments thereto, Council may pass a bylaw to establish the penalties on taxation.

WHEREAS, Mackenzie County has adopted a Tax Penalties Bylaw 1136-19, and

WHEREAS, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Mackenzie County Council has deemed it desirable to amend the tax due date and the tax penalties date for the 2020 tax year, and

NOW THEREFORE, the Council of Mackenzie County in the province of Alberta, duly assembled, hereby enacts the following:

- 1. That taxes shall be due and payable on July 31, 2020.
- 2. That the taxes or any portion of the current tax year that remain unpaid after the due date shown on the tax notice shall have late penalties imposed on the dates and at the rates specified as AMENDED below:

Current Taxes	August 5	Six per cent (6%)
Current Taxes	September 1	Nine per cent (9%)
Current Taxes	November 1	Twelve per cent (12%)

3. This Bylaw shall come into force upon third and final reading.

READ a first time this 22nd day of April, 2020.

READ a second time this 22nd day of April, 2020.

READ a third time and finally passed this 22nd day of April, 2020.

(original signed)
Joshua Knelsen
Reeve

(original signed)
Lenard Racher
Chief Administrative Officer